Loading Events

« All Events

Baining life and culture with particular reference to several of their ceremonial dances

October 13 @ 5:00 pm 6:00 pm

LIVE EVENT | THE OCEANIC ART SOCIETY INVITES YOU TO ATTEND AN INTERNET STREAMED LECTURE BY HAROLD GALLASCH

4.30PM ADELAIDE DST | WEDNESDAY 13 OCTOBER 2021

Baining life and culture with particular reference to several of their ceremonial dances

I first went to Papua New Guinea in 1962 and became a permanent resident there until the 1980s. My work took me all over PNG and many of the islands. A lot of time was spent in villages collecting art, recording stories, filming ceremonies and exploring hitherto unknown cave systems. My main areas of interest were the Tolai, Baining and New Island cultures. I also collected in the Maprik region and the Highlands.

The Baining

An introduction to the Baining people of the Gazelle Peninsula of New Britain. Over 55 years in excess of 1000 masks were documented, exhibiting great variation in form and size with some up to 5 metres tall. Some of their dance sequences are the most dramatic and inspiring of any culture. The significance of their masks and some of the iconography will be discussed.

The webinar will begin at 4.30pm Adelaide DST
Sydney 5pm DST
Paris 8am DST
London 7am DST
Washington 2am DST

A full recording of this live event will be made available for current members of the OAS at a later date.

This online webinar is free to OAS Members but you must register for a ticket.
For Non-Members the ticket registration fee is $15.

Note: After registration you will soon be sent a zoom link for the event access. Reminders will be sent prior to the event to all participants who have been registered. Please check your ‘junk’ folder and ‘approve sender’ if you don’t receive this message.

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking “Get Tickets” will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tickets are no longer available

Details

Date:
October 13
Time:
5:00 pm – 6:00 pm
Cost:
Free – $15
Event Category:

Organiser

Oceanic Art Society
Email:
info@oceanicartsociety.org.au
Website:
View Organiser Website